Seeing Beauty

Salamualaykum,

Been meaning to share some reflections from my work in the field. Alhumdulillah, I’m learning how to empathize when empathy is needed and detach when detachment is needed, and on a more visceral level, I’ve recently been practicing the habit of seeing beauty. Being able to recognize beauty in a life story, in a person’s strengths, aims, sacrifices, and struggles brings tremendous value into the day-to-day work .. knowing that the person in front of me has a wealth of insight and any failure they’ve experienced can lead them to a greater determination to better their circumstances. I try to extend this habit extend beyond the people I work with and into my daily encounters at the store, the masjid, family gatherings, and more, by noticing beauty in seemingly average experiences like a child swinging his father’s hand, a person giving a heart-felt salam or hug, birds taking flight, my parents laughing together on a Saturday morning. Seeing the beauty in such occurrences and reflecting on Allah’s ability to make a person experience the highs and lows of life, helps me stay grounded and maintain perspective.

وَأَنَّهُ هُوَ أَضْحَكَ وَأَبْكَىٰ
And that it is He who makes [one] laugh and weep. [Surah An-Najm:43]
fa54b8780f5536beee52b4a1036174ee
-Fi Amanillah-
Leave a Reply

