22.

Salamualaykum,

Alhumdulillah, 22 years old today :)

The theme for this last year has been trying to experience the essence of صِبْغَةَ اللَّهِ.

Allah ta’ala says at the end of the first juz,

صِبْغَةَ اللَّهِ ۖ وَمَنْ أَحْسَنُ مِنَ اللَّهِ صِبْغَةً ۖ وَنَحْنُ لَهُ عَابِدُونَ

The “sibghah” of Allah, and who can be better than Allah in “sibghah”? And we are His worshippers. (2:138 )

Sibgha means coloring or dye, that is not the original state of something. It is the color that has been put on. It can be of two types:

  • Tangible: which is to take the color of something
  • Intangible: which is to take the influence of something.

The first part of the ayah “sibghatullah”  means khuthuu sibghatullah, take the sibgha of Allah. The ‘color’ of Allah that is being referred to here is our deen, Islam. It refers to the effect of Islam that you can see on a person through 1. Their identity and the way they submit and 2. Through their characteristics: every part of our lives are influenced by this deen.

I asked myself during different experiences and endeavors .. How much of this color do I have? How can I seek out the color of Allah in my life and in myself? What are some ways I can immerse myself completely in Islam and color myself with Islam?

Interestingly, making an effort to answer the questions above also led me to discovering new colors on my own palette .. colors I didn’t think I had.

colors on a paint palette

Notes are from Al Huda

-Fi Amanillah-

7 thoughts on “22.

    • Wa’alaykum Assalam Badr,

      I haven’t read anything about the color green being the color of Islam. Have heard more about the color white being the Prophet’s favorite. Allah knows best.

      Thank you for stopping by! :)

Leave a Reply

