[Calling Skilled Du’aat] I need some help..

Salamualaykum,

So there’s this non-Muslim student I’ve become friends with over the course of the semester, and I asked to meet with her for breakfast a few days ago just to talk about .. Islam. :) The reason I wanted to catch up with her was because she hasn’t missed a single MSA event at school since last semester! She’s met so many MSA sisters and she never brought up any reservations she had with Islam. So me being me, I’m like, “Yo!! What are we waiting for?! Let’s do a da’wah intervention!” My friends agreed. :) So we met up and talked about the semester for a bit. I asked her about school and life and then.. got to the meat of the matter. (Names have been changed for confidentiality purposes)

“You know, I think it’s incredible that you’ve taken the time to get to know Muslims and really engulf yourself in a different religion. If you don’t mind me asking, what made you gravitate towards Islam?”

“Not at all. I really appreciate the open dialogue that’s always welcome with Muslims. I believe all paths have some truth and that everyone has their journey to God. With Islam, I feel like it’s so misunderstood and after 9/11, I wasn’t getting accurate answers to I decided to do some learning on my own. I was in meditation class when a Muslim first asked me to come to an MSA event about the Prophet Abraham and I absolutely loved it.”

“I’m glad to hear that! How have your family and friends reacted to your interest in Islam?

“My friends sometimes ask why I choose to hang around you all and I tell them about everything I’ve learned. I don’t think they understand though, so that’s hard.”

“And your family?”

“Well, with them, I just don’t like the fact that I’ve been lied to through Catholicism.”

“It’s great that you’ve reached a point where you feel comfortable exploring other paths and seeking knowledge to get to know God. This is a bit sensitive, but .. I think it’s really interesting that out of the thousands of students at this University, you’re somehow chosen to constantly take time out to learn about Islam and be around Muslims. Is there anything in particular that’s keeping you from accepting Islam?”

*Smiles* “I love Islam, and in particular, all the teachings and the emphasis on purifying the soul, but I think there’s so much beauty in life that I just can’t restrict myself to just one path. You know, after I started to get out of my atheism phase, I looked into Buddhism, Hinduism, and now I’m looking into Islam and I think there are parts of the truth in every religion.”

… and the conversation went on for another hour-ish. I’ll summarize the rest below.

I started to get an idea of where she was at. I explained to her that it’s quite possible that other religions have parts of the truth, but why not follow the complete truth..?? Her response was that she needed more time to read and understand the Qur’an. Fair enough, but get this! She has all the ingredients of a Muslim. All of them. Seriously.

I asked her if she believed in Allah, without any partners. She said yes.
I asked if she believed anNabi (salallahu ‘alayhi wasallam) was a genuine Prophet of Allah. She said yes.
I asked if she had any issues with fasting, Hajj, Zakah. She said no, she said she loved all of them.

“You know that makes you a Muslim, right?” She smiled and took a pause before saying that she had one question.

“Why does the Prophet Muhammad have to be the last Prophet. Why can’t there be any others after him?

“Jenny, you told me earlier that you’ve been reading the Qur’an, right?:

“Yea, I have.”

“Okay, when you get a chance. Read some more, as much as you need to or are able to at the time. Read it and as you read it, I want you to sincerely ask yourself if you think the Qur’an is a divine Book from God. Can you do that?”

“Yea, I plan to do that over break”

“Awesome. Once you do that, if you can come to the conclusion, on your own, that this book is a divine book from Allah, then that automatically means that everything in it is pure and true. Does it not?”

“Yea, I guess it does.”

“Now in the Qur’an, Allah says that Muhammad (salallahu ‘alayhi wasallam) is the seal of the Prophets and no Prophet will come after him till the last day, so if you are convinced that the Qur’an is from Allah, then we must accept Allah’s way of planning things, whether we understand them or not. If Allah wanted Muhammad (S) to be the final Messenger, that’s how He wanted it.”

After this, we went on to discussing the misconceptions with ‘Esa (‘alayhis salaam), and subhanAllah, she completely denies the trinity and understands why he cannot be the son of God. I also talked about the analogy of a 2nd graders’ writing (other books) compared to Shakespeares writing and how no one would hesitate to point which writing belonged to Shakespeare. Same with the Qur’an, it stands out from the falsehood. She said she thinks prayer is wonderful and how she loves the fact that Muslims wash themselves before Salah.. and I’m thinking, “Okay, what am I doing here, she’s Muslim!”

We ended the conversation on a very positive note, alhumdulillah. I invited her to watch us pray in the musallah any time she’s free. She actually mentioned her fascination with extreme sufism so I tried to explain the need for balance :). Alhudmulillah, she understood everything and barely had any objections! Which, left me extremely confused…

What else should I talk about the next time we meet? At one point, I found myself proving that Muhammad (salallahu ‘alayhi wasallam) was not an imposter and she had to stop me, saying that she believed in him. SubhanAllah.

She believes in all five pillars but feels the need to keep other religions or ‘paths’ open for exploration.

What am I missing? Help me understand what her actual issue is, because there really doesn’t seem to be one. I told her again before leaving that she’s Muslim, just needs to take the Shahadah.

Please make du’a for her. She’s really an amazing individual, just needs some clarity.

So help me out, what other convincing arguments should I bring up?

JazakumAllahu Khair in advance.

-Fi Amanillah-

12 thoughts on “[Calling Skilled Du’aat] I need some help..

  1. SENSE OF URGENCY!!! That’s the conclusion I’ve come to after numerous conversations with her! She and I are meeting next week, insha’Allah, so I intend to do so as subtly yet profoundly as possible ;). She truly is a phenomenal person with such a kind a loving heart; and as you said, she possesses the fundamental qualities of a Muslim…she needs that last push. May Allah bless and guide her further to the sirat al mustaqem.

    • Birdie, I think that’s definitely something I missed when “walking away”. I was caught up in explaining a lot of things she already believed in. May Allah make you a means by which she enters Islam! :) Ameen.

  2. wa alaykum as salam,

    May Allah grant you success in your dawah efforts. Ameen.

    Although she believes in the Messenger of Allah, but I think she needs more clarification on why Prophet Muhammad sallallahu alayhi wasallam is the last prophet. You can explain to her that God sent earlier prophets to guide their own people (give examples of different prophets) at different places. But then Allah decreed to reveal His final deen through His final messenger because this deen was to be sent as a complete deen.

    ** parts of truth in every religion **
    say: Yes, it is true that there are parts of truth in every religion (because somehow their origin is related to the message of the earlier prophets) but there is absence of “Oneness of Allah” in them, which should be the foundation of a person’s belief.

    Give her time to read. Pray to Allah that shaytan doesn’t intervene her.

    ** She has all the ingredients of a Muslim **
    Give her a hug the next time you leave each other.

    And indeed Guidance is solely from Allah azzwa jal.

    • Wa’alaykum Assalam Warahmatullah,

      Ameen! JazakAllahu Khair Br. Farooq. I definitely think I should have spent less time trying to convince her of things she already believed in. I’ll hug her next time insha’Allah. :)

      I appreciate the help.

  3. Assalamu alaikum

    Why is the Prophet sallallahu ‘alaihi wa sallam the Final Messenger? It’s because of the Qur’an itself, not just because the Qur’an says so. The other Prophets alaihimus salaam were also given Divine Scriptures, but Allah did not promise to safeguard them from corruption, and so they were altered over time. But the Qur’an cannot ever be changed. So the Message from Allah is preserved in it, and therefore there’s no need to send any new Messengers: we can just refer to the Qur’an. If need be you can discuss about the preservation of the Qur’an, how it was recorded, how it is memorised by the huffaz etc.

    But I don’t think you need to do any ‘convincing’. Just keep on inviting her to Islam, give her time and make dua for her. Guidance is in the Hands of Allah. (Note: I have no experience in giving da’wah and am not a daa’ee, let alone a skilled one!)

    • Wa’alaykum Assalam Warahmatullah,

      Awesome point! This is why I asked her to read the Qur’an and see whether she could come to the conclusion that the Book was complete and without any faults. Agree, she doesn’t need to be convinced, just time, du’a, and urgent reminders insha’Allah.

      I appreciate your insights. JazakAllahu Khair!

  4. Assalama ‘alaykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu dear sister!

    “What else should I talk about the next time we meet? ”

    What am I missing? Help me understand what her actual issue is, because there really doesn’t seem to be one.”

    Loved your post! masha’Allah. May Allah increase you in goodness and may the one you speak of submit to Allah. I had a similar experience recently, and alhamdulilah the sister accepted Islam. There are just two things I just want to point out or suggest; when you meet her next time, speak to her about what Islam means to you, connect with her on the bases of what your life is like because of Islam…make it more personal. I had recently done a halaqah on muslim character and I talked in depth about the hadeeth of the prophet sal allahu alayhi wa sallam..about how when we love something for ourselves we should love it for our brothers and sisters, I remember when the sister came to the halaqah I kept stressing on how Allah has blessed me in so many ways, by way of my family, friends, bits and pieces of knowledge of his deen, and because of that I should be a grateful slave and all of I see around me could be taken in a heart beat..all of it. So all in all I kept stressing to the sister that islam is important to me, it is dear and close to my heart, and I really wanted this for her. I told her also she can learn more about the deen of Allah in depth and that we are all doing that, we are all a work in progress. The sister had been content about with the five pillars, and because of that I made the plunge and asked for her shahadah. So as I mentioned earlier..make your talk with her personal, speak about your own experience. And lastly the second point I want to bring up is that the fact the sister accepted islam by way of me was totally be the will of Allah, Allah’s decree and I felt that she herself had been searching, looking for something, and it was by the will of Allah that she had walked in on my halaqah that day and Allah had used me as a vehicle to call her to Islam, but nonetheless her heart was ready, prepared, guided by Allah, and it was her time. So with this sister it could be that she is still hesitant, needs time to think over, but insha’Allah I think with talks like the one you’ve had her mind will start thinking about ‘why not become muslim’ and insha’Allah her heart will be guided to the right path. I pray that Allah makes this path easy for her and you and that you are rewarded for your efforts. I feel like it is the greatest honour to be given in helping someone accept Islam (and in aiding them to remain strong in the faith, as thats when the real work/responsibility comes for you as the one who called them to the faith)!

    If you have any questions or just want to talk please do shoot me an email! I love your blog and the words of wisdom you share! I can be reached at rahmi dot 10 at gmail dot com

    Wassalama ‘alaykum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu

    • Wa’alaykum Assalam Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh!

      Thanks so much for the wonderful suggestion. The idea of personalizing the conversation didn’t really cross my mind. I was just trying to make sure she had all the right “information” and I may have lost sight this important point. I’m so happy to hear that the sister accepted Islam and that *you* were a sabab for her conversion! MashaAllah tabarakAllah. :)

      Will email you whenever I have some news about “Jenny” or just because.. lol :) InshaAllah.
      JazakiAllah Khair for stopping by and sharing your story, much appreciated.

  5. Assalamu Alaikum
    I feel that the only other things she needs is things like have her watch the complete documentary miracles of the Qur’an, and ask her how was it possible 1400 hundred years ago to know what was going on in the galaxy, and the formation of birth in a woman, the movements of the sun and moon, the 7 layers of the heavens, the mountains as pegs, have her to watch it,there are so many more examples, and remind her that they didn’t have telescopes or microscopes, or none of the modern technology that they have today yet they’re still finding things in the Qur’an to be true. There are so many ways and things to show her the complete truth, I could go on forever but I hope that you get my point. May Allah(swt) continue to bless you in your endeavors.

    • Wa’alaykum Assalam Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh,

      JazakAllahu Khair, Br. Bilal. That sounds like a great idea. I think I need to hear or read more convert stories to get an idea of what kinds of things really make someone take their shahadah.. like the final steps before they make the decision to convert. InshaAllah that should help.

      Ameen to the du’a. Thank you for stopping by, I appreciate the help!

  6. Assalam-o-Alaikum,

    Guidance comes from Allah and our responsibility is to convey the message. The best course of action is to take it slow and not be pushy. Don’t ask her to “accept Islam” but see if she has any questions and answer them.

    Often people have told me that they believe that all religions have some degree of truth, just like she said. Explain to her that this is true because in the Qur’an Allah has said that He sent messengers and prophets to all nations. Except their message got corrupted.

    If Islam is destined for her, then she just needs more time inshallah. Take it slow.

    Wassalam

    • Wa’alaykum Assalam Warahmatullah,

      JazakAllahu Khair for your insights. Appreciate it!
      I’ll be meeting with her before the semester ends just to reiterate that she should take some time to read the Qur’an over break inshaAllah. May Allah open her heart to Islam, Ameen.

Leave a Reply

