If He (salallahu ‘alayhi wasallam) drove a car…

Salamaulaykum,

I have a confession to make.

I’m a reckless driver.

Not by choice, it’s just the way I’ve driven since I was 16. The thing is though that I’m not a bad driver. I actually think I’m a really skilled driver, just not a very good one. If that makes any sense.

Some evidence:

    • I have successfully mastered the art of driving with my knee as well as my elbow
    • I use my peripheral vision to check blind spots
    • My excuse for not wearing a seatbelt sometimes is that I don’t want my freshly pressed hijab to mess up.
    • I change lanes like it’s nobody’s business
    • I use my iphone GPS
    • Yellow means go as fast as you can
    • I’ve been dubbed the drag racer of our local Muslim community
    • My speed limit is generally 5-7 miles higher than everyone else
    • I can’t remember the last time I stopped at the stop sign near my house. (This isn’t that bad though, I firmly believe it should be a yield sign.. or deer crossing sign)
    • My mom is shocked I still have 0 negative points. Alhumdulillah. #skills. ;)
So! I’ve decided to do my own intervention inshaAllah. I’m going to make a list various actions the Prophet (salallahu ‘alayhi wasallam) might have done if he drove a car. =) Not all of these will pertain to me though, just general (hypothetical) sunnan.
First things first: If He, salallahu ‘alayhi wasallam had a car, it would most likely be a Volvo, in my opinion. But not one of those fancy shmancy ones, just an average or above average Volvo – sophisticated, smooth, and efficient. :) Agree? Disagree?
If He (salallahu ‘alayhi wasallam) drove a car, he would…
  • Read Ayatul Kursi and Bismillahi tawakkaltu… as soon as he would get in the car
  • Wear his seatbelt and check his mirrors
  • Drive according to the speed limit
  • Have ample space cushion when braking
  • Stop at stop signs
  • Have both hands on the wheel at all times
  • Make sure his car was in good working order
  • Keep his car clean at all times
  • Offer a ride to anyone in need
  • Stop by different masajids on his way to check up on the community
  • Offer assistance to anyone having car troubles on the side of the road
  • Allow others to pass in front
  • Smile at the driver on the right or left side
  • Renew his drivers’ license in a timely fashion
  • Pray two rakaat in different locations when travelling
  • Make dhikr while driving
  • Recite or listen to Qur’an while driving
  • Share beneficial knowledge with his family if they were in the car as opposed to silence or idle talk
  • Keep safety equipment in the car in case of emergencies or to help someone else
  • Drive humbly
  • Keep his phone off while driving
  • Never think of his vehicle as a source of pride
  • Slowly come to a stop at a yellow light
  • Know what all the different road signs mean and abide by them
  • Always stop to pray if Salah time came in
  • Leave early and arrive on time wherever he, salallahu ‘alayhi wasallam needed to be
  • Drive only to good and pure places
  • Have a solid niyyah before leaving home
  • Structure his day around the Salah
  • Leave the home for necessary and purposeful reasons
  • Be completely unfamiliar with the concept of road rage
  • Be patient with reckless drivers
  • Ask his family if they needed anything before leaving
  • Call home to tell his family when he would be back home so not to worry them
  • Reflect on the perfection of the heavens and the earth when driving
Can you think of anything else?
Bismillah, tawakkaltu `alallah. Allahumma inni a`udhu bika an adilla aw udalla, aw azilla aw uzalla, aw azlima aw uzlama, aw ajhala aw yujhala `alayya
I begin with the Name of Allah, I trust in Allah; O Allah! I seek refuge in You from leaving or being led astray, or against slipping or being caused to slip; or doing injustice or being done injustice; or doing wrong or having wrong done to me.
-Fi Amanillah-
P.S.: I don’t drive like a maniac when my little sisters are in the car, just when I’m alone.
7 thoughts on “If He (salallahu ‘alayhi wasallam) drove a car…

  1. Very thoughtful, masha’Allah. I think we often forget how valuable and productive our time behind the wheel can be. Try playing a new surah during your commute, and after just a week, you’d be surprised how much you’ve already picked up! It’s funny how we complain about the lack of time, yet when presented with cutouts of it, as this, we frequently neglect to make the most of the hour or two of our day spent traveling. Especially in solitude, such occasions are perfect for reflecting and emotional ejection ;)

    • lol, I like how you totally overlooked my serious problem and focussed on the good, mashaAllah. :) <3

      So true, driving is one of the few times we can really think and reflect since there's not much else to do. I can easily get in my morning and evening adhkaar while driving alhumdulillah.

      Muslimah93, I wouldn't encourage you to pick up my driving habits. I seek refuge from my own driving lol.

  2. Alhamdillah that you’re working on your own intervention. I think your list is really great, ma’sahAllah.
    Can I share a small story to also help you in your intervention?
    One of my friends in university was driving her car and unfortunately, she was also either texting or checking her inbox while she was driving. Anyways, la hawla wa la quwata illah biallah, she had an accident and her baby cousin (who was in the car) died. I actually met her AFTER she’d had that accident, but one day she spilled it all to me and how she couldn’t sleep and had to go a psychiatrist and how she had to face her aunt and uncle with the death of their baby….to this day, I feel shivers down my spine when I think of the trial she went through. I guess my point is that driving is a major responsibility and we have to remember that it’s not a privilege.

    • :( That’s so hard to hear. May Allah make things easy for both families. Thank you for sharing.
      Alhumdulillah, I never text and drive. My issue is more with speeding, but subhanAllah, this post has been quite helpful! If I don’t act upon what I’ve posted, I feel hypocritical so i’d say it’s a fairly successful intervention alhumdulillah :)

      Thanks for stopping by! Always appreciate your insights.

  3. Really enjoyed this post sis and the reason iam saying is for encouragement inshaAllah
    Dont worry about how many people like or comment…the message is getting thru and the muslims reward is with his Lord! So keep on sis =)

    “Offer a ride to anyone in need”

    • Aww! Alhumdulillah, I’m so happy to hear that :) JazakAllahu Khair.

      Trust me, if I cared much for comments and likes, this blog would have been history lol. While I like posting reminders for readers, they’re really more for myself because I read my blog more than anyone else, so I try to focus on issues I know I need to work on or think about more often. It also works well because if I post something, I push myself to do it no matter what to avoid feeling hypocritical. Works well, alhumdulillah. :)

      Thanks for stopping by and for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

