Story of ‘Urwah ibn al Zubayr

Salamualaykum,

‘Urwah Ibn Al Zubair had an operation and the doctor had to amputate his leg. Soon, a friend came to visit him. ‘Urwah thought that the friend came to pacify him for the loss of his leg. So ‘Urwah told the visitor:

 If you came to give me condolence for the loss of my leg, I already submitted to Allah with patience to reward me for its loss.

The guest told him: I came to inform you that your son fell down in a stable, and the animals stepped over him, and he died one hour ago.

‘Urwah said: O Allah! You took one child, and left me many…You took one organ from my body, and left me many organs…O Allah! You tested me with my body, and you were kind to leave me with good health.  You tested me with the loss of my son, but you were kind in leaving me the rest of my children.

The true meaning of..

رَضِيتُ بِاللَّهِ رَبًّا وَبِالْإِسْلَامِ دِينًا ‏ ‏وَبِمُحَمَّدٍ ‏ ‏رَسُولًا
Raditu billahi rabban, wa bil-Islaami dinan, wa bi-Muhammadin rasoolan
“I am pleased with Allah as my Lord, with Islam as my din, and Muhammad as a Messenger”

-Fi Amanillah-

Leave a Reply

