Ruminations

Salamualayakum,
  • My house is going to be full of DIY projects. :) Love the whole modern art stuff and I think I’m not half bad at it.
  • Summer has been quite hectic so far. read, rinse, pray, work, sleep, eat, repeat. I’m taking a long break from volunteer work for the next few months.
  • When life beats you up, take a nap.
  • My youngest sister has an incredible sense of humor. I’m jealous.
  • The shaykhy crushes article was quite disturbing. Some tips off the top of my head: if you listen to a youtube videos by shuyookh, treat it as audio and don’t watch, just listen. Most of all, just lower your gaze.
  • I love teaching.
  • Inferential statistics is genius.
  • Why am I just now discovering pinterest.com?! It’s A-mazing. :D
  • There is no excessiveness in modesty or generosity.
  • I believe there are countless benefits of going out for Khurooj. I sincerely pray that Allah blesses me with the opportunity to go out for His sake. Ameen.
  • DC Hidayah was wonderful. SubhanAllah, it’s so beautiful to see everything come together after two months of hard work. Allah knows best but I probably won’t work on it again just because it’s a much greater time commitment than I initially anticipated. The most amazing thing about all the planning for DCH was that the shura never had a physical meeting.. thanks to gmail, wufoo, and google docs. :)
  • We had a Malaysian jamaat at our house for a couple days last week, loved every minute of their stay alhumdulillah. On one of the nights, Abbu invited some friends for dinner and while Ayesha and I were busy in the kitchen, we couldn’t help but get caught up in some of their conversations. One of the uncles was absolutely hilarious! I actually had to step away to laugh lol. He started talking about his many travels with jamaat and how he spent more time with mosquitos in Pakistan than people lol. “Mosquitos love me because my blood is so sweet, pure, and halal,” he said. After some time, he stopped going in jamaat and tried to explore different ways of seeking closeness to Allah so he decided to go to Egypt. He explained that while there, he would listen to the different lectures even though he wouldn’t understand much, “I would sit and listen patiently. I thought to myself, that perhaps Allah will bless me with something because of my patience. Allah blessed me with patience”. :) His last few comments are what really interested me. They started talking about masajids and how people like to hype up the fact that there’s a ton of da’wah work going on while in reality, we’re going against more commands of Allah than we are obeying His ahkaam. Abbu asked him what he thinks the masajids are being used for and he replied quite frankly, saying that nowadays, our masajids are being used for whatever people want to use them for. Yes, the Prophet’s masjid was a community center, but there was a culture of hayaa’ which is dissipating today. Activities and programs are going on, but the fikr, the yaqeen is lacking. Sadly, I can’t agree more. At the same time however, I do believe that our masajids are trying and they’re trying very hard.
  • Round six has begun. No comment.
  • Why do women cry for no reason? Like, absolutely no reason whatsoever? I need to find out. It would explain a lot.
  • I can’t watch movies.. Unless it’s a cartoon movie or something. I can’t get any khushoo’/concentration in Salah if a I watch an action-packed movie. I watched Salt about a month ago and it was replaying in my head for a good week or so. Heard Inception was pretty cool but there’s no way I can watch it.
  • “If you knew how much Mercy Allāh has, you would depend on it. If you knew how much torture Allāh has, you would know what you did will not benefit you.”- Mu’adh ibn Jabal radhiallahu ‘anh …. SubhanAllah.
  • Fudayl ibn Iyaad said, “If shaytaan conquers the son Adam with one of the three things he becomes content- 1) being fond of himself, 2) feeling his deeds to be plentiful, and 3) forgetfulness of his sins.”
  • Islam is sacrifice. Always be outside your comfort zone.
-Fi Amanillah-

10 thoughts on “Ruminations

  1. As-Salam aleykoum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu,

    “I still notice that there is a huuuuuugeee difference between the Islam you find in tabligh and da’wah work compared to the Islam outside of it”.

    Dear sister, you are absolutely right, I agree…the more I see it the more I am convinced

    Jazak Allah Khair
    Nabila

    • Wa’alaykum Assalam Warahmatullahi Wabarakatuh Nabila! :)

      So I’m not the only one who notices the difference, subhanAllah. Is there a lot of da’wah and tabligh work going on in your area? I’d love to know.

  2. Lol you are so cute. Loveeee the quotes you shareddd!!! Btw, what’s the shaykhy crushes article??? Ooooh!!!! And my sister got to meet the Malaysia jamaat tooo!!! Xoxoxoxoxoxoxo! Hope ur welll darling! =)

    • SubhanAllah! I could have met your sister, that’s so cool! :) Maybe next time inshaAllah. You can find the article on Muslimmatters.com. It was basically about Muslim women thinking too much about shuyookh and students of knowledge.

  3. Assalamualaikum..

    Nice to read it mashAllah…

    I once had a french women jama’t at our place and i was in grade 8 at that time and the impact that jamat had over me was astounding mashAllah…

    BTW what’s DIY project?

    I also learnt soooo much from my father and keep on learning…alhamdulillah..he’s my counsellor,my mentor,my deen guide mashAllah…

    I loved the second last point..

    I also beleive that watching movie …phew! specially if u have a mind which imbibes very quickly and loves to ponder n think think n think…so its better to indulge in constructive things for me ….

    Ok i myself have created a whole post instead of a comment..so i should stop.

    Wassalam.

    ~CooL MuslimaH~

    • Wa’alaykum Assalam Warahmatullah Cool Muslimah,

      SubhanAllah, the feeling of having a jamaat over is truly inspiring. :)
      DIY = Do It Yourself. Basically handmade projects and art work.

      JazakiAllah Khair for stopping by! :)

  4. Fudayl ibn Iyaad said, “If shaytaan conquers the son Adam with one of the three things he becomes content- 1) being fond of himself, 2) feeling his deeds to be plentiful, and 3) forgetfulness of his sins.”

    Jazakillah for this reminder, will keep an alarm insha allah

  5. You should have watched Inception instead of Salt, and then should have never watched any action movie :)

    ■Really can’t stand older adults from my background who only care about money. NO! Everyone can not be a doctor, we have more than enough of those.

    Can’t agree more!

Leave a Reply

