Teaching Resources

Salamualaykum,

I wanted to list some of the resources and techniques I’m using for Saturday School, just in case they might be useful to other teachers/parents. :) If you’re teaching similar subjects, please share!

Qur’an

  • The Qur’an, of course
  • Notes from Bayyinah’s Tajweed course
  • Notes from my Tajweed classes back in ’97-’99.
  • Shaykh Yasir Qadhi’s Tajweed series on Youtube
  • Hisnul Muslim for our “du’a a week” activities.
  • There isn’t too much involved with this class. I listen to each student. Recite their new lesson and they repeat after me. They’re responsible for memorizing it by next class. For the last ten minutes, I teach a new tajweed rule and give examples of that rule from the surahs they’re memorizing. Works well.
  • For progress, I keep track of who memorizes and who does a haphazard job. I also keep a mental checklist of which students need more help with tajweed than others.

Fiqh

  • Mukhtasar al Quduri (Hanafi Fiqh)
  • Heavenly Ornaments (Hanafi Fiqh)
  • Notes from Al Maghrib’s Purification Act class (all four madhaahibs)
  • Everything is pretty straightforward for fiqh since I only have to teach the Hanafi opinions. When I studied basic fiqh early on, it was only Hanafi so this is easy to teach alhumdulillah. However, since I started to take more classes on different madhaahibs, I changed the way I do some things so I have to be careful about giving them what I’m supposed to and nothing extra. MashaAllah, the girls are smart and mature and they’re genuinely interested in learning so I enjoy teaching them. We’re just about done with Tahara so as we move forward, I’ll probably use other resources as well.
  • I give quizzes every three classes. These are just for me to see if they’re grasping the material.
  • I also make worksheets for them. I think it’s good to give them a handout instead of just telling them to take notes because that way, when they see an empty table or empty lines, they’ll know what they missed and what they’ll be tested on. Everything on the handouts is fair game for all quizzes and tests so that makes it easy for me to check they’re progress.
  • For homework, I assign that they should practice whatever we learned (ex: how to do tayammum), memorize a du’a a week, and revive the sunnah that we went over (ex: always being in a state of wudhu)

Aqeedah

  • Aqeedah Tahawiya
  • Kaitab at Tawheed
  • Notes from Al Maghrib’s Light of Guidance, Light Upon Light, and Rays of Faith classes (very handy!)
  • Notes on Tazkyatun Nafs from A Heart Serene
  • Sh. Kamal el Makki’s Aqeedah course series
  • Purification of the Soul by ibn al Qayyim (rahimahullah)
  • Imam Sa’adi’s explanation on the 99 names of Allah
  • Various articles and personal knowledge from lectures and Al Huda
  • I spend the most time planning for this class because Aqeedah is definitely something that should be taught very clearly 1. Because it’s the basis of our deen and 2. Because it sets the stage for how the students will think about Allah. I try my absolute best to incorporate a balanced amount of material about Allah’s mercy as well as Allah’s wrath through different ahadith and stories. I find that stories are a great way to get a topic started because they grab a person’s attention and keep them engaged.
  • Just as with Fiqh, I make worksheets for the students where they can take notes as we go along. There’s a combination of tables, fill in the blank, and definition questions that they have to answer as I go through the material.
  • With this class, I like to ask a lot of questions because if I don’t they easily get off track and start doodling or texting (arg!). The boys are way more responsive than the girls so I pay more attention to them. Last week, we went over the hadith of Jibreel ‘alayhis salaam and the different types of Ihsan we should practice.
  • For homework, they have to memorize 10 names of Allah every week as well as 1/10 of Ayatul Kursi per week. I also give them action items such as ‘keep la ilaha ilallah on your tongue’ ‘do one nice thing for each parent, they are your keys to jannah’ etc. Works well

Seerah

  • Ar-Raheeq al Makhtum
  • Man and Prophet by Adil Salahi
  • Notes from The Shepards Path
  • The Prophetic Timeline (prophetictimeline.com) < love this.
  • Makkan series by Imam Tripple A
  • Shama’il at Tirmidhi and The Prophets’ Smile notes
  • Since this class is all little kids, I have to drastically change the way I teach the material. The other three classes are all kids 12+ so it’s different. Even though I spend half the time letting them go to the bathroom, or help them sharpen a pencil, or open their bag of chips, I still manage to get through some actual class work lol. alhumdulillah.
  • I usually sit down instead of standing up because I like being closer to them and I think they’re less likely to get distracted when I’m at their level. I usually write key point on the board but ask them to just listen carefully. Last week, we did a quick review of Prophet Ibrahim ‘alayhis salaam and finished the early revelation period.
  • I try to mostly focus on helping them to visualize and develop love for Rasulullah (Salallahu ‘alayhi wasallam). We have discussions about the Prophet’s character, his physical features, what he liked/disliked etc. and they seem to enjoy it.
  • If I have time at the end, we play the Bismillah game.. if any of you have taken Sh. Abdulbary Yahya’s classes, you know what I’m talking about :) MashaAllah, they absolutely love playing it.
  • No homework for the little ones. I thought about assigning some but I know for a fact it won’t get done so it’s better not to.

I also use a lot of homeschooling resources I’ve saved over the years. I especially love Talibiddeen Jr. The worksheets are great :) If you have any resources, please feel free to share. I’d love to give my students more work lol, jkjk.


“I showed humility as a student, so I was given respect as a teacher.”

Ibn Abbas (radhiallahu ‘anh)

May Allah accept from us any ounce of khair we can share with others. May we always act upon what we teach and learn. May we always see our contributions to the deen as minimal and our sins like mountains hovering over us. Allahummaj ‘alni minal Muhsineen waj ‘alni minas Saliheen waj ‘alni minal Muttaqeen. Ameen thumma ameen.

-Fi Amanillah-

8 thoughts on “Teaching Resources

  1. Assalam alaikom sister
    SubhanaAllah i have learned so much from your blog, Mashaallah.I am a regular reader here please do not stop posting and sharing with us the ilm. May Allah bless you on all the effort you put in to your blog and share the knowledge with us. I also noticed you are a fellow Almaghrib student small world right. AMAZING almaghrib students all over the world, student of knowledge indeed.
    Jazak Allah khayran Again for the great Work.
    Wa saalam alaikom wr wb.
    Allah bless you bi ithni laah :)

    • Wa’alaykum Assalam warahmatullah,

      Jazakillah Khair sister, that’s so sweet. May Allah ‘azzawajal make us better than we seem. :) Glad the posts have been beneficial so far, even though the last few have been personal rants lol. Waiyyakum.

      May Allah bless you as well. Ameen :)

  2. Salam 3alaykom, jazaki Allahou khayran for that detailled explanation :)

    I have some questions, actually i taught some kids (between 9 and 14 yo) quran at the masjed but it was a nighmareyoung, no experience in teaching) … lol. SoubhannAllah i don’t know they weren’t learning anything, just talking and laughing.
    I was thinking maybe i was too kind or i don’t know …

    • Wa’alaykum Assalam,

      Waiyyakum! Glad it’s beneficial, alhumdulillah.
      I’m not sure what your question is so correct me if I’m wrong, are you asking how to keep the students interested in Qur’an and and under control?

      • na3am, that’s my question, baraka Allahou fiki and sorry for my poor english.

  3. It’s definitely challenging at times but what I try to do is make the Qur’an relavent to them. They need to know why they need this Book and how it should play a part in their life. One thing I love about Qur’an class is our virtues portion, this is when I share different ahadith about reciting Qur’an, learning it, memorizing it, and acting upon it. Not only do the virtues serve as motivation but they also make the experience of learning Qur’an, a lot more meaningful (inshaAllah). Alhumdulillah, my class is not extremely rowdy or out of control so that’s not an issue but if they are, I usually emphasize to them that the book of Allah is being recited and we should all show respect and humility.

    Hope this helps inshaAllah! =)

Leave a Reply

