The Weeping of Umm Ayman

Salamualaykum,

On the authority of Anas, who said: ‘Abu Bakr said to ‘Umar, after the death of the Messenger of Allaah sal’Allahu ‘alayhi wa sallam: “Let us go visit Umm Ayman, as the Messenger of Allaah sal’Allahu ‘alayhi wa sallam used to visit her.” When they finished visiting her (and were about to leave) she began to cry. So they asked her: “What is it that makes you cry? Is not that which is with Allaah better for the Messenger of Allaah sal’Allahu ‘alayhi wa sallam?” So she replied: I am not crying because I am not aware that that which is with Allaah is better for the Messenger of Allaah sal’Allahu ‘alayhi wa sallam, but I am crying because the revelation from the heavens has stopped.” This moved them to tears, so they both began to weep with her.’ ‘ [Muslim]

-Fi Amanillah-

3 thoughts on “The Weeping of Umm Ayman

  1. Assalama ‘alaykum,

    I love this hadeeth! I once wrote an article titled ‘the link’ for qabeelat ittihaad after I took Uloomal Quran there, and I remember how much of an effect umm ayman’s words had on me. May Allah make us of the people of the quran; the people He subhana wa tala loves!

    ps. Just looked under your quran section and I am happy and pleased to know that you are another Alhuda student as I am alhamdulilah! did you finish the program?

    • Wa’alaykum Assalam warahamatullah,

      Always love meeting a new Al Hudian//Al Maghrib student :). I’m from Nurayn. I haven’t finished the program yet, I’m taking it super slow lol. have you?

      I’d love to read your article, is it online?

      Ameen to the du’a :)

  2. Assalama ‘alaykum!

    Wow! Why Am I just seeing this now! I’m really glad to have met another Alhuda student as well. Yes, I’m actually a second time Alhuda student. I was almost done with the program, but got busy with school and work, and then decided my two day a week sessions were going too fast and wasn’t reflecting much! Alhamdulilah I like the new program!

    Yes, my article is on-line! Its right here: http://www.ittihaad.com/images/uploads/media/ittihaadeeth_v2-i3_r114.pdf . Its titled “The Link” I hope you benefit.

    Rahma

Leave a Reply

