Jumbled

Salamualaykum,

Wow, I think this is the longest I’ve gone without posting something. Says a lot, huh.. :p So school has started alhumdulillah and I’m finally able to just sit down and think through how this semester will go and what’s ahead inshaAllah. SubhanAllah, this week literally felt like a month. One day feels sooooo much longer when you start your day at suhoor and end it at around midnight (without a qailulah). I doubt any other week will be as hectic as this past one since Ramadan is ending and a lot of the MSA work load will go down significantly (inshaAllah), but it was definitely a lot busier than I expected.

MSA iftars went very well this week alhumdulillah. Almost everything went according to plan with a few minor hiccups here and there. I’m so glad we all work well as a team and get along. Usually with groups consisting of more than 5 people, it’s easy for lots of disagreements to divert the groups’ attention from what really matters. What’s interesting though is that I don’t think any of the board members are shepherds.. but I also don’t think any of us are sheep either. We’re all right there in the middle and each of us becomes a leader and takes initiative when needed so it works out well. I was having some trouble at first with speaking up and getting my points across just cuz the vibe is so different in MSA meetings compared to any other org. meetings, but I’m getting past it alhumdulillah. It’s weird because with Tablet and other orgs, I have absolutely no problem giving constructive criticism or suggesting an idea, but with MSA I don’t know why I get so quiet. :p I’m getting better at it though, so that’s good. I was talking to a few sisters yesterday about how when you put so much time and energy into something when you’re young, it still has a place in your heart when you get older. When I left the MSA in High School, I made SO much du’a that our efforts wouldn’t go in vain and that the next board would work as hard as we did. I’m starting to feel the same way about this MSA. I’ll probably find excuses to come back and see how things are going even after I graduate, because really, it’s all about the fruits of your efforts. You take hours out of your day, time away from your family, your sleep, and whatever else for the sake of Allah and serving your community and in the end, you want to see that’s it’s all paying off. And even if it isn’t, you find satisfaction in knowing that the Angels are writing down your actions and Allah knows your niyyah. What I love most is all the work that’s done behind the scenes. When students come to get their snack packs or line up for iftar or look at a flier, none of them really know how much time and effort went into putting everything together or even who does what. It really helps to keep our intentions sincere and take as little credit as possible. Rabbana taqabbal minna..

Oh right, I also go to school for a purpose other than MSA, lol.. Classes are also off to a great start. I definitely did not anticipate the BSW program being this intense but bi ithnillah, I’ll get through it. Besides the truck load of reading and writing every week, completing my internship hours is what’s really stressing me out. Finding a place to intern at won’t be an issue but dedicating 7 hours a week there might =/. InshaAllah khair. All my professors are surprisingly very nice… I guess I lucked out! I’m only taking one honors course this semester called Dictatorship, descent, and the mechanisms ofoppression. I think that’s what it’s called. It’s basically a discussion based course about various torture tactics, mechanisms of oppression created by autocratic systems, and the internal workings of incarceration. Needless to say, I’m psyched about this course! The only drawback is that it looks at soviet, nazi, Chinese, and Iranian dictatorships…not America’s :p. But it’s okay, I’ll find some way to incorporate facts about America’s notorious prison systems (I always do). The books we’re reading look interesting. The one we’re reading this week is a memoir by a prisoner in a Soviet labor camp. What’s crazy about it is that the whole book talks about just one day in the camp and subhanAllah, it’s absolutely mind boggling to read about the extent to which humans can inflict torture on their fellows human beings, or in this case… people of their own race and blood! May Allah protect us all.

It’s about 6:30 and I’m parched so I’ll leave it at this inshaAllah. Sadly, I don’t think I’ll be writing much this semester just due to commitments and school but whatever happens, I promise to finish that post about DC Hidayah, I’m working on it ;) InshaAllah, I hope anyone who is reading this has an amazing end to Ramadan and I pray that you are blessed to find Laylatul Qadr this year and every year inshaAllah and may Allah accept every du’a you make in these last few days. Ameen. :)

Here’s a nice du’a by Sh. Salah Bukahtir:

-Fi Amanillah-

6 thoughts on “Jumbled

  1. “Sadly, I don’t think I’ll be writing much this semester just due to commitments and school…”

    aw sad.. just when I bookmarked your blog :(

    May Allah make this semester easy for you, inshaAllah.

      • You really should :)

        I don’t work for them but I’ve learnt a lot from br. Nouman’s analysis of the Qur’an.

        In general, I keep rotating web links which I think could benefit others. Sorry if that looked misleading. If you don’t mind, I’ll be linking this blog too :)

        Massalam

    • Wa’alaykum Assalam,

      It’s called ‘One day in the life of Ivan Denisovich’ by Alexander Solzhenitsyn. You’ll get lots of practice pronouncing Russian names if you read it. :) ‘The Gulag Archipelago’ is also a famous book by the same author, it’s mostly eyewitness testimonies from the camps.

Leave a Reply

