Random

Salamualaykum,

  • Dear person, please stop being difficult, I don’t have time to deal with it. k, thanks.
  • I need two synonyms. One for ‘awesome’ and one for ‘cool’
  • I made a new quotes journal! It’s pretty. :) Will post pics soon.
  • My friend writes for Muslim Matters and today she asked me if I wanted to write for them. …I was like, uhh…Jazakillah khair but I’m not even remotely qualified to write for MM lol. Maybe if I can think of an iman-lifiting series to work on, I may consider it.
  • Always remember that when anyone praises you… in reality they are praising Allah’s ability to cover your sins and beautify whatever you do.
  • I really like this reciter mashaAllah: Surah Qiyamah
  • Every Summer I make a list of goals and I usually end up accomplishing at least half of them..but this Summer’s different. Most of the free time I have is used up in helping Aminah check off her goals so that leaves little time for me to pursue my own. khair, it’ll pay off inshaAllah.
  • All my friends are moving away, and if they haven’t moved yet, they’ll be leaving in the next few months. sigh.
  • 37-ish days till Ramadan inshaAllah! MR has left the blogging world so his annual Qur’an completion competition won’t be happening. I want to create a simple google docs spreadsheet for the MSA sisters so we can all finish the Qur’an together in Ramadan, it won’t be as exciting as watching the green bars go up like on MR’s blog but it should work fine inshaAllah.
  • Ayah of the Day: “And keep yourself patient [by being] with those who call upon their Lord in the morning and the evening, seeking His countenance. And let not your eyes pass beyond them, desiring adornments of the wordly life, and do not obey one whose heart We have made heedless of Our remembrance and who follows his desire and whose affair is ever in neglect.” [18:28]
  • In times like these when everyone is way too fond of themselves, this is an important du’a to remember. Rasulullah (sallallahu alayhi wasallam) supplicated: “O Allah! Keep me alive as a Miskeen; let me die a Miskeen and raise me up ( in Qiyaamah) in the assembly of the Masaakeen.” Ameen.

-Fi Amanillah-

4 thoughts on “Random

  1. Asalam Alaikum (:

    I had to reply to your question on how to reduce stress. I am a big stresser, it is so bad that I actually start sleep walking when I reach a certain limit and believe you me as funny as it may sound (sleep walking was something I associated with cartoon characters walking with their hands in front of them) IT IS NOT. I go to university in a different country and the thought of me sleep walking out my room without hijab and abaya scares the daylights out of me. So I had to combat stress.

    It wasn’t until recently (after suffering a chronic shoulder ache due to exams *BLUGH*) when readin Ibn Qayyim’s Uddatu Sabirin wa Dhakhiratu Shakirin and Harun Yahya’s The Importance of patience in the Quran) it hit me that patience as they put it is not a moral characteristic that makes life difficult for the faithful believer but it is an act of worship much like any other acts of worship ordained by Allah s.w.t. and thus one must not lose it or let other things empower it. Other things being stress for an example.
    And I know that everyone is aware of and always mention Sabr whenever something bad happens or when going through a rough patch but only when you have it engraved in you you will be able to not take a hit, from the worldly things. Whatever happens your first thought should be Allah Malik. Doing Dhikr and reading Quran regularly does help and nothing beats it. And not just reading but reading with tafseer even if you understand Arabic.

    And might I suggest that by always do everything on time (an example would be in my case preparing for exams or doing coursework on time) will not lead to any cause for stress.
    And I see the Productive Muslim logo!! I love the phrase Productive Muslim, because that is how a Muslim should be all the time.

    This is how I understand it and combat stress (: InshaAllah it helps you.

    • Walaykum Assalam warahmatullah,

      Jazakillah khair ukhti for such a helpful reply! :) really appreciate it.
      Your point about treating patience as an act of worship is key. Any time I get stressed or lose my cool, I always ask my self where my tawakkul in Allah goes in times of need. The thing about stress is that many of us want to take care of our struggles and hardships throughout life all by ourselves. I often have a hard time letting go because I feel like I haven’t exhausted every measure possible to deal with whatever problem I’m having. Consequently, I find myself mentally drained and unable to deal with other things that need my attention. May Allah make it easy for all of us to have complete tawakkul Him. Ameen.

Leave a Reply

