Western Sunrise

Salamualaykum,

Class is going well alhumdulillah. Sh. Abdullah Hakim Quick is like a modern version of Ibn Battuta lol, MashaAllah, he’s been everywhere! He’s also very academic in his approach to the topics we are studying and I’m amazed at the vastness of his knowledge base mashaAllah. May Allah preserve him. Ameen. Some highlights from the class so far:

  • The Shaykh began the class by talking about some major problems within the Ummah right now as well as the need for a revival within ourselves. I was SO happy he talked about things like drugs and intoxication problems among Muslim youth, peer pressure, and overexposure to shamelessness. Very few speakers bring up these topics and if they do, it’s usually not said to a large crowd. Coming from a public school background, I’m fully aware of the magnitude of the drug problem among youth and wallahi it scares the jeepers out of me. It’s absolutely crucial for shuyookh to address these issues on a large scale and come up with viable solutions to things like addiction (not just to drugs) and peer pressure.

  • I didn’t know Wahshi (ra) was from Habesha. Before embracing Islam, he killed Hamza (ra) to get his freedom from the wife of Sufyan (ra). After the horrible events that followed, he accepted Islam and killed Musaylama al khathab. Look at the Qadr of Allah. SubhanAllah!
  • The next time I give da’wah to a Christian inshaAllah, I’m going to bring up Arias and the Council of Nicea. Chances are, they won’t know what I’m talking about, which equals more time to convince them :)
  • My favorite part so far was learning about the Murabitun movement! SubhanAllah, these soldiers were blessed to do Ribat which is one of the most praiseworthy actions a Muslim can do–staying up all night to protect the Muslims. The Murabitun were also meticulous in their practice of Qur’an and Sunnah and the basis of their movement was: 1. Promoting good 2. Forbidding evil 3. Forbidding any taxation not permitted by the Shari’ah. Like many movements, they were strong for the first few generations, but by the 4th one, their leaders had become corrupt and divided. Ibn Khaldun speaks about them in great detail in his Muqaddimah.
  • When we were studying the fall of Al Andalus, this quote by the mother of Abu Abdullah really stood out to me: “Why do you cry over something like a child that you wouldn’t defend like a man”? Abu Abdullah was the last Khalif of Granada and at the time, most of the Muslim leaders were becoming divided and squabbling over power. He signed a treaty with Ferdinand and Isabella and as a result, their army completely destroyed the Muslims within a few years. This happened in 1492 so the real significance of this date is not that Columbus discovered America (which he didn’t), rather it was the fact that 1492 was the last effective rule of Muslims in Western Europe. Even today, Spaniards have holidays where the celebrate this downfall by dressing up like Moors and having festivals and whatnot. The Shaykh mentioned that Spanish children are not even taught much of the Muslim history in Spain…which, by the way, lasted for 500+ years. SubhanAllah, all because of one major mistake and the preference of the leaders preferring this world to the hereafter.
  • For the majority of the golden period of Timbuktu, non-Muslims were not allowed into the city (500-600 years). Many of the books that were written at the time are still there but they’re in poor condition and the termites are getting to them. Not to mention that many books were stolen during French rule. Now, a lot of books are being found underground because the Muslims would hide them during imperialism. Just like in Mauritania, students who wanted to learn from scholars in Timbuktu would live with the teacher, work with them and would learn more from their character–Mu’tazama system.

That’s all for major gems after the first weekend. One of my best friends, who happens to be one of the Ameerah’s for Nurayn is getting married in a few months inshaAllah. She pulled me aside on Sunday and asked me if I’d like to be the next Ameerah, but I kindly declined. I told her that I’d love to but I have way too much on my plate already and most importantly, I don’t think I can do it. Besides the time commitment and responsibility, I’ve noticed that students often put the shura members on a pedestal as if they’re like the paragon of excellence or something and I don’t like that. I just don’t fit the bill. So since I declined, I now have the duty of scouting for the next Ameerah. :) This should be interesting.

-Fi Amanillah-

Leave a Reply

