Assalatu khairum minan nowm

Salamaualaykum,

Al-Hasan al Basri was asked: “We are unable to perform the night prayer so prescribe us a cure.” He said, “Do not disobey Him during the day and He will help you stand before Him during the night.”

“Perished are the speeches and vanished are the allusions. Nothing benefited us except the prostrations which we made in the middle of the night.” -Al Junayd

“Should any of you stand in Salah before his Rabb, he should know Allah in his heart by the great blessings which He bestows upon him and the abundant favour which He grants him, for Allah has honoured him with great goodness, but he has saddled himself with sins. Therefore it is incumbent upon him to be excessive in his humility and meekness towards Allah.”– Imam Ahmad ibn Hanbal

“If you want something, and you’re not praying Tahajjud for it, you don’t really want it”–Sh. YQ

A couple years ago,  I was huge news junkie. I’d read 6+ articles a day (mostly cuz I had to for Journalism class) and I noticed that the more I started caring about politics and reading things that really didn’t make a difference in my life in the end, the less khushoo’ I was getting in Salah. It’s always good to know what’s going on around the world and staying up to date with things, but don’t let it take a toll on your ‘ibadah. That’s really what matters in the end. If you’re standing in front of Allah Subhanhu Wata’ala and the only thing on your mind is what a certain politician said or you’re running through news headlines in ruku’, you’re really not getting much out of your Salah. Be conscious of the things that go through your mind when you’re in Salah, it’ll help you eliminate those distractions from your life, and with the little experience I have..I can say that it really does work alhumdulillah. I’m not saying you should completely abandon all extra things from your mind, but it will definitely make a difference if we take steps to remove unnecessary thoughts, news tidbits, and random information from our life inshaAllah. Try it :)

-Fi Amanillah-

2 thoughts on “Assalatu khairum minan nowm

  1. Sister, I can relate to the advice u have given. I also used to read news and articles online. I found that all the bad news got me distracted from Allah and ultimately made me feel very depressed. I couldn’t do anything about it and it eventually made me feel desensitized to the plights of the Muslims. I ask Allah to restore the love I once had for this ummah :-(. Where did we go wrong? (that’s a rethorical question :d

Leave a Reply

