Week in Review and the Garden

Salamualaykum,

I’m DONE! =D …. with midterms Alhumdulillah. So the week in review. Ready?

On Saturday, I went to the library to write my paper on medical technology and how it has changed the western perception of self. I focussed mainly on the topic of longevity and how scientific research in genetics is moving towards an understanding of life with an exclusively secular viewpoint where fate and other ‘supernatural’ things will not be able to affect the human life span (at all) within a few decades. I tried really hard not to mix the Islamic viewpoint into the paper and I did a pretty good job of solely focusing on western beliefs. In class though, I was happy that a lot of the hard core Christians brought up the fact that in the Bible, God says that He shortened the lives of nations that had spread corruption on Earth. After some comments were made, I wanted to complement the same argument with some Islamic examples (Qaum-e ‘Ad, Thamud, Lut, Nuh) but unfortunately, my professor completely brushed aside the examples from the Bible so I didn’t bother bringing up more religion. I wish I had though =/ I spent about 7 hours writing the paper in the library..after a while it started reminding me of death (not in a good, reflective way) so I left. Sunday..same thing. Library, work, blaaah. :p

From Monday through Thursday, I pretty much looked like a hijabi bum. Black hijab, black abaya, hoodie, old flats, unmatching  bracelets, socks, and pins. Totally nonchalant. Pulled a couple all nighters and drank that horrible stuff called coffee…never doing that again. Luckily though, the studying paid offff! :) I dominated my SOC and ECON exams, and aced my papers Alhumdulillah. I had a rough start to the semester so I really needed the good grades. :p On Monday, I went to my Calligraphy class (AMAZING!) The class is great but there’s one problem–the Ustadh only speaks Arabic and I can only understand 5 words he says constantly–hatha, hathihi, mathalan, taqreeban, and ya’ni. I guess I was shaking my head a lot, or maybe my face has some hint of Arab features or something, but he somehow thought I was Arab the entire time. He asked me something in Arabic, and I innocently shook my head and said “la” lol. There are a couple Arab students in the class so they translate for the rest of us amateurs.

I went jogging at 2 am last night, in the rain. :) Exactly what I needed after this crazy week, I wonder why I never thought of it before. Our neighbor’s cat is always roaming around our driveway so when I came back, she was sitting on the stairs. :p

Also yesterday, Abbu was telling me more about Allama Iqbal’s work. This time, he explained Jawaab e Shikwa to me, though I’ve heard it/analyzed it a few times on my own. I wanted to hear his thoughts on it, so I didn’t mention that I already knew it. So anyway, here’s Abbu’s analogy on the state of the Muslims//his conclusion on Iqbal’s work. Let’s say you have a jungle…there are thorns and branches everywhere, animals living lawlessly, no sense of ‘adl or ihsan, and lots of  harmful animals like snakes and scorpions. So Allah Subhanahu wata’ala sent the best of mankind, the best of creation to cultivate this land, to make it into a peaceful garden where all kinds of animals can live peacefully. The Sahaba (radhiallahu ‘anhum) exerted a great amount of effort to flatten this land and make sure everything had its place. The Khulafaa ar rashidoon continued the tradition of looking after the garden. They stayed up when the people fell asleep and went around the city to make sure all was taken care of and helped anyone in need. And more than anything, they realized that there was a direct correlation between following the commands of Allah and receiving Allah’s help and mercy in trying times.  They toiled and struggled to create this garden and therefore, their concern for it’s future was just as strong as their concern for it’s present state. They took ayah 30 of Surah Al Baqarah to heart, where Allah azzwajal says to the Angels the he will place upon the earth a Khalifah and that Allah knows better than the Angels what mankind is capable of. Unlike most pathetic politicians of today, these Khulafaa’ wholeheartedly believed that they were the deputies of Allah on earth and would be held accountable by Allah for what they sacrificed for this deen and how they spent their time in Allah’s service. Today, unfortunately…there are very few people in high levels of authority who have this sense of accountability in their hearts. And we, as part of the average Muslim population, are not doing much to stop a lot of the ills in our very own Muslim communities/countries–the Sunnah of all the Prophets was that they fought against the greatest ill in their society. When we put in a lot of time, effort, and sacrifices into making that beautiful garden that Rasulullah (S) and the Sahaba left for us, that’s when we will feel some sadness and regret if some unwanted thing comes into the garden, takes it over, and tries redesign the whole system according to their way…or even if one of the inhabitants of the garden tries to cause havoc. We haven’t even reached that point yet where most Muslims feel some sort of personal investment in the Ummah. Without that internal sense of obligation, moving forward will mostly likely remain a largely individual or small-group effort and in the global scheme of things, the progress of the Ummah will seem slow and practically stagnant. You’ve heard it before, but this is a reminder for myself and for you if you need it– we all know that it starts with our own selves and our families. Stay on top of your Salah, take time out of your ‘busy’ life to lend someone a hand, be merciful to those around you, act upon what you already know, and always always ask yourself, “What would the Prophet (Salallahu Alayhi Wasallam) do?” When you figure out the answer, act upon it (consistently) and teach it to someone else. :)

May Allah protect us from fruitless knowledge, an unaware heart, and duas that are not responded to. Ameen.

-Fi Amanillah-

Leave a Reply

