Fasad

Salamualaykum,

I was clipping my nails yesterday and I accidentally clipped my left pinky nail too deep. I didn’t feel anything afterwards but when I woke up this morning, it was hurting, actually…more like throbbing. It was so painful that I had to put a band-aid on it so I wouldn’t do more damage. Kind of silly, but SubhanAllah, if you think about it..the dermis of our fingertips are composed of  really tiny nerve endings and pacinian corpuscles that are responsible for helping us detect pain. As humans, we all have these nerves and we all experience relatively the same amount of pain and discomfort through major or minor injuries. As I was trying to ignore my pinky pain, I also tried to think of how ridiculously insignificant my discomfort was in comparison to those suffering in any other part of the world, right now, this second, as I write this. I absolutely hate turning on the news these days but I figured I should know what’s going on. Unfortunately, there was yet another bomb blast in Pakistan this morning. I can’t even imagine surviving such an atrocity and then having to live a life after losing however many limbs, phalanges, teeth, organs. I can’t even wrap my head around why or how someone could knowingly destroy other human beings without thinking twice about the excruciating pain and suffering they will go through if they survive. I was about to cry because of a piece of flesh that’s barely visible. SubhanAllah. Whoever they are, whatever their purpose, May Allah guide them and all of us to the straight path. I sometimes wonder if there’s any hope left in these secular Muslim governments but then I just laugh. I’m amazed at the utter lack of concern they have for the akhirah and the justice of Allah. Allahu ‘Alim if they are even worthy of being called fasiq. Anyway, the last point I wanted to make was an ayah that came to mind. Allah says in Surah Baqarah, Ayah 11: وَإِذَا قِيلَ لَهُمْ لاَ تُفْسِدُواْ فِي الأَرْضِ قَالُواْ إِنَّمَا نَحْنُ مُصْلِحُونَ: When the hypocrites are told not to make fasaad on earth, they equate their fasaad (mischief) with islah (reformation). So they don’t even perceive that what they’re doing could possibly be wrong in any way. I think once the hearts have become “sealed” to that point, where their perception is hindered, there’s very little we  (as sane human beings) can do to change them. Ultimately, the hearts are in the hands of Allah, but what can we do? Or can we do anything? The fasaad is on both ends–those doing the actions (i doubt they’re Muslims and if they are, they’re demented) and the government that is full of corrupt, hard-hearted people with no sense of Islamic governance..it doesn’t even cross their minds! Khair, if there’s anything we can do, it’s du’a–lots of it…I mean the kind of du’a in which we genuinely cry out of remorse for our own failures and actions. Maybe that’s the problem. We don’t cry anymore, we don’t know how to. ‘Many sympathize but few empathize’. k, im done.

-Fi Amanillah-

One thought on “Fasad

Leave a Reply

