Iqra’

Salamualaykum,

Would it be safe to say that it is somewhat offensive to compare the Qur’an with Bible? Allahu Alim. The thought has been recurring in my mind ever since Al Huda started. I mean, SubhanAllah, it takes us about 45 minutes to discuss about 1 and a half to two ayaat of Qur’an. So that’s about 140, 310 minutes dedicated to discussing just the tafseer of Qur’an (very rough estimate). And double that time for going into the word analysis, triple that time for balagha, Causes for Revelation, Tajweed, and then moving on to Uloom-ul-Qur’an, etc. Scholars of Qur’an have spent their lives studying and learning the book of Allah, and nowadays we have people who pick up a translation of Qur’an, thinking they have some ability to understand the deep meaning, eloquence, hikmah, style, tone, and miraculousness of this Book. How dare they? I mean, seriously. How dare they pick up a translation of Qur’an and try to make any sort of judgments or assumptions about what Allah has sent down? This is a scripture from noble, elevated, majestic speech. We should be desperate to take from it whatever we can, it’s far too high above us. This goes for Non-Muslims and Muslims alike. Unfortunately, nowadays we have Muslims, a lot of young, uneducated, emotional, egotistic, Muslims who try and pass judgments on the Kalaam of Allah without having the slightest bit of understand about tafseer, context, history, etc. And as a result, we have a huge problem of these extremists who could really use just some basic lessons on Qur’anic tafseer. I made the comment about the Bible, because how can one even begin to compare the original, beautiful Kalaam of Allah with what the Christians have done with the Bible. Shaykh AE commented in his Al Adab al Mufrad series that instead of it being the Qur’an compared with Bible, it should be the Bible versus the works of the sons and daughters of our scholars. I see why he said that now.

I’m only on lesson 6 out of Allah knows how many Al Huda lessons, and already, I feel like I have such an enormous obligation towards this deen, towards Allah. When we were going over the ayah: الَّذِينَ يُؤْمِنُونَ بِالْغَيْبِ وَيُقِيمُونَ الصَّلاةَ وَمِمَّا رَزَقْنَاهُمْ يُنفِقُونَ, I thought to myself, if I don’t get my Salah straightened out now, I’ll be such a lame excuse for a Muslim. So right then and there, while the class was going on, I turned down the volume and made du’a to Allah: Rabbi ja’alni muqeemussalati wa min dhurriyati rabbana wataqabbal du’a–Oh Allah, Make me and my children steadfast in Salah, Oh Allah accept my du’a! It’s a very common du’a, but you know how we recite things on automaton until reality strikes and the words of Allah just overpower us…it was one of those moments. To end it here, my point is that we should make every effort to learn the Book of Allah in its entirely and its definitely not something to be taken lightly. May Allah azzawajal make whatever we learn, an evidence for us on Yaum ul Qiyamah and not an evidence against us. Ameen.

Finally, if anyone is interested my Al Huda notes will be posted here regularly InshaAllah: Qur’an. I’m trying my very best to make the notes understandable for everyone, and not just myself. Feel free to use them for self-study, review, etc.

-Fi Amanillah-

Leave a Reply

