Sleep Waves

Salamualaykum,

Isn’t it weird how when you sleep more, you’re actually more tired whereas if you get less sleep, you’re somehow better equipped to function long term. This is probably a false statement according to science and psych, but that’s what I experienced these past few days. Last night I came back from Tarawih around 11:40. I hit the bed at 1 am. I woke up for Suhoor at 4 am. Stayed up to finish my juz and dhikr chunks till 6:30 am. Woke up to give my dad tea at 9 am. Slept again. Woke up again at 11 am to go to work. It felt like every time I hit the bed, I was up again and I could barely remember sleeping at all. Throughout the day, I wanted to dose off but Alhumdulillah, I was somehow able to beat my sleep wave patterns and get through it. I was even able to add in an extra two juz to my Quran schedule (btw, I’m in 2nd place in the MR Quran competition right now, make du’a I can come in first InshAllah!). I remember learning about our body’s alpha, beta, and delta wave patterns, so I guess going back to that, If you can overcome your sleep waves to some extent, it becomes easier and easier to get through the day with less sleep. I don’t know why, but this is not always the case for people during school..I noticed this change in Ramadan, probably cause there’s motivation to get up. I’m utterly amazed at how our pious predecessors were able to worship all through the night and still have the energy to do da’wah, teach, and learn during the day. Imam Bukhari (Rahimahullah) would finish the entire Quran during the day and then finish it again during Qiyam at night over the course of three nights. SubhanAllah. Many of us can easily stay up studying for an exam or presentations, but when it comes to a few minutes worshipping the One who created us and guided us to His Light, we become fatigued.

Ya Muqallibal Qulub, thabbit qalbi ‘ala deenak
“Oh Controller of the hearts, make my heart firm in your religion”

-Fi Amanillah-


Leave a Reply

