“And to your Lord turn your invocations.” [94:8]

Salamualaykum,

Alhumdulillahi Rabbil ‘Alameen. I have come to the end of my four years of high school. :)
It’s amazing how we await this one day, this one moment where WE get to shine and make it all about ourselves. But really, there are so many people who worked hard to help us get there. Alhumdulillah for amazing teachers, counselors, and of course, Family, Friends, and Cousins. Anaam made my graduation one of the best days of my life. May Allah reward my Aunt, Uncle, and cousins with high statuses in Jannah and bless them with the best in dunya and akhirah. They are by far the most generous people anyone can come across, and for that I am incredibly grateful to have them in my life.

Two days before graduation, my counselor told me that I am a valedictorian…which to be honest, I did not even believe until I saw my transcript. I can’t explain the shock and utter excitement I felt but after about a milisecond of enthusiasm of this huge accomplishment, I suddenly regained my senses and said Alhumdulillahi Rabbil ‘Alameen. Who am I? SubhanAllah, all this success, every last bit of it came from Allah (swa) and I should be grateful to Him, not to myself.

As I sat through graduation, I thought about how similar graduation is to the Day of Judgement, SubhanAllah. Some people stood out in that sea of blue and white, wearing their medallions and NHS stolls but regardless, we were all unified in our presense. As we walked across stage, each and every one of us recieved exactly what we put forth and no one was dealt with unjustly. Some had more diploma seals, cords, and stolls than others but in actuality, that is the effort they put forth and in return, they got what they deserved; a small token of remembrance. On Yaum-ul-Qiyamah, when we will all be standing before our One Lord of the heavens and earths, waiting to recieve what we have put forth, how will we feel? On that day, no one will be dealt with unjustly because they will be able to see with their own eyes what they have put forth and what they have left behind. Some faces will be bright and shining (believers). Some necks will be nice and long (muadhin). Some parents will be recognized by their robes and hats (parents of huffath). Some will be under the shade of Allah (swa) on the day that there will be no shade (the specified seven). Some will have their records handed in their right hand while others will have their Book of Deeds handed in their left. Some will enter Jannah through of it’s eight doors while others will be thrown into the blazing fire (as-Saeer). Where will we stand? How will we answer to Allah (swa)? These are questions we should be overwhelmed with at all times.

So…yes, I am happy about graduating, but we should never forget our purpose in life, Allah (swa) says that He did not create the jinns and humans but to worship him. And that is our purpose, pleasing Allah (swa). Regardless of how many PhD’s we have or how many worldly successes we have, if we are going against Islam and not following the prescribed path of sirat-ul-mustaqeem, then what does it matter?

“Oh Allah, improve my religious life for that is to be my refuge; and improve my worldly lif, for I have to lie it; and prepare me for the afterlife, to which I shall have to rerun; and make this life a mean to achieve every kind of good; and trun death into a bliss before any evil state supervenes” Ameen thumma Ameen.

And Allah Knows Best.

Leave a Reply

